Virtual Regional Conference on Decriminalisation of Petty Offences in Africa

African Policing Civilian Oversight Forum (APCOF)
14
Sep
-
16
Sep

Virtual Regional Conference on Decriminalisation of Petty Offences in Africa

by African Policing Civilian Oversight Forum (APCOF)
 
175 people viewed this event.

The regional campaign on decriminalisation of petty offences in Africa will be holding a virtual regional conference in September 2020. The overall objective of the Conference is to provide a continental platform for a broad-based discussion and review of measures adopted to contain public emergencies and crisis, such as the novel coronavirus (COVID-19); analyse policing policies and practices adopted in response to such emergencies; and determine whether there are any linkages between these measures, their enforcement and the rights and welfare of those experiencing social marginality and other forms of social-economic disadvantage. Additionally, the Conference aims to identify regional best efforts and practices – on responding to pandemics – that are right-based in nature and promote the targeted mainstreaming of such efforts into other existing commitments to address public emergencies.

The Conference will be held over three consecutive days on 14th, 15th and 16th of September 2020, as separate sessions from 11h00 GMT (13h00 SAST, 14h00 EAT)

For further information, or to register interest in attending, please contact helene@apcof.org.za

Find the concept note here

To register for this event please visit the following URL: https://bit.ly/3aYHxxM →

 

Date And Time

14-09-2020 @ 11:00 (UTC) to
16-09-2020
 

Location

 

Venue

Webinar
 

Event Category

Webinar
 
 
 

Share With Friends